Monday Matters

Bless the Lord, O my soul, and all that is within me,bless his holy name! Bless the Lord, O my soul, and forget not all his benefits, – Psalm 103:1 – 2 http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Psalm103:1-2&version=ESV

As 2015 ends and 2016 begins, I have noticed a common thread running through many of the blogs I have been following:  gratitude, thankfulness, positive attitude, etc.  I was wondering why, but a few days ago I found the answer when I opened up my Bible Gateway app to read and study for a bit.

O bless the Lord, O my soul!”  Hmm.  Same attitude of gratitude, but now it is directed somewhere – towards God.  David goes on to list why he is grateful and full of praise.  I think that it is worthwhile to examine the whys today.

  1. He forgives all your sins.  We sometimes have a hard time with this, but God is clear – if we ask, He will forgive all.
  2. He heals.  Again, we struggle with this, because not everyone is cured of all their illnesses or diseases in this life.  BUT, when we do come to God and ask to be forgiven, He welcomes us home as His children, and gives us the greatest gift – ETERNITY.  So whether there is a miracle on earth or one in heaven, He heals our brokenness!
  3. He redeems.  HE paid the price – the blood price – that our sins cost, and He paid it on our behalf, in His own blood.  That’s redemption – it’s when someone else pays a debt they do not owe, on behalf of someone else.  Jesus bought our freedom with His blood!
  4. He crowns us with love and mercy.  And not just any love – steadfast, hold-onto-us-forever love!
  5. He satisfies us with good!  He will cure cravings for the unhealthy, for the worthless, and fill us with true goodness!
  6. He renews your youth like eagles.  When I think of the most vibrant, most alive people I know or have known, I realize most of them are older.  My sweet friend, Vitie, was 94 years young, and I had to run to keep up with her.  My friends Maxine and Marcia are both older than I, but keep a much more hectic schedule than me.  How?  Because they trust Jesus for the strength and the energy to accomplish the tasks He sets before them.

And that’s just in the first 5 verses!  This year, I am going to ask the Lord to give me an attitude of gratitude’ and to remind me of all the things we have to  praise Him  for!

What will be your focus this year, your attitude?  Share your thoughts and ideas here in the comments, and let’s check back in a few months to see how we are all doing!

 

Leave a Reply

