Don’t believe everything you read on Facebook

Indeed, I would caution you, dear readers, against believing ANYTHING you read on Facebook. I too saw the quote, supposefly made by the pope, that many are believing says they don’t need to believe in  God to be saved. Well, I am a skeptical person. I looked up what the man actually said. Here are the pope’s actual words:

“The Lord has redeemed all of us, all of us, with the Blood of Christ: all of us, not just Catholics. Everyone! ‘Father, the atheists?’ Even the atheists. Everyone! And this Blood makes us children of God of the first class. We are created children in the likeness of God and the Blood of Christ has redeemed us all. And we all have a duty to do good. And this commandment for everyone to do good, I think, is a beautiful path towards peace. If we, each doing our own part, if we do good to others, if we meet there, doing good, and we go slowly, gently, little by little, we will make that culture of encounter: We need that so much. We must meet one another doing good. ‘But I don’t believe, Father, I am an atheist!’ But do good: We will meet one another there

.”

It sounds to me as if all he is saying is, let’s try to meet on common ground, let’s start a dialogue.

In addition

T

homas Rosica (a Vatican spokesperson who specializes in translating the Pope’s remarks for English-speaking Catholics and the media) issued a clarification stating the homily’s content was not intended to suggest belief in God was immaterial to salvation:
This means that all salvation comes from Christ, the Head, through the Church which is his body. Hence they cannot be saved who, knowing the Church as founded by Christ and necessary for salvation, would refuse to enter her or remain in her.

Do I agree?  Only insofar as to the truth that all  salvation is through Jesus. After all, Jesus himself said, “I am the way, the truth and the light. No one comes to the Father except through me.”  So unless I think Jesus is lying (in which case why would I choose to allow Him to be Lord over all my life) then I must accept that there is only one road to salvation, and that it goes through the cross  I’m sorry if some family and friends disagree, but I refuse to deny Him to pleade man.

I would also ask that you CHECK YOUR FACTS  before posting nonsense on Facebook. Thank you. I am getting off my soapbox now.

Read more at http://www.snopes.com/politics/quotes/popeatheist.asp#Xfk2t4BcHKPSoPVr.99

2 thoughts on “Don’t believe everything you read on Facebook

  1. I’m not a Catholic, but I really like Pope Francis. I know that there are a lot of people who attack him and twist his words, but I believe that he really “gets” what the world needs to hear and understand right now. He’s attempting to show that whether you believe in Christ or not, he believes in you and he died for you… he died for the atheist and the homosexual. We all fall short. No one is beyond saving! And the first thing we all need to do is meet each other in love. We can work from there. It saddens me that whenever he makes these types of remarks so many try to tear down what he’s trying to build up. We’re all the same team…

Leave a Reply

