The places I’ve been to

image from Open book | Flickr - Photo Sharing!

image from Open book | Flickr – Photo Sharing!

There is no Frigate like a Book
To take us Lands away
Nor any Coursers like a Page
Of prancing Poetry –
This Traverse may the poorest take
Without oppress of Toll –
How frugal is the Chariot
That bears the Human Soul –
by Emily Dickinson
To paraphrase the John Denver song, “the places I’ve been to, the stories books tell.”  I’ve been to India, Morocco, Egypt; to Polynesia, Hawaii, Alaska.  I’ve seen the rice paddies of China, the red stones of Petra, the falls at Iguazu. I’ve sailed before the wind on a man-of-war, orbited Vulcan, cycled the lanes of Holland and trekked with Lewis and Clark!
Oh, how did I manage all that, you ask?  It’s easy and cheap – I read a book.  From The Far Pavilions to Spock’s World, I’ve done it all.  Authors open new worlds to their readers, new and exciting places to explore!  How else would we get to experience the beauty of Narnia, or stark landscape of alien worlds without books?
Have you ever gotten so lost in a book that you forgot to put it down?  I have.  Have you ever decided, ‘I’ll read one chapter.’ and your next thought is, ‘Oh, wow, I finished the whole book!”  I would love to hear your experiences in reading:  what moves you, what are your favorite places to ‘visit,’ which characters’ company do you seek out time and again?
“Tell me what you read and I’ll tell you who you are” is true enough, but I’d know you better if you told me what you reread.”
François Mauriac
15 thoughts on “The places I’ve been to

  1. The Far Pavilions is one of my mom’s favorite books. I have been looking for a complete copy for her for years.

    My favorite places to “travel” have been Victorian London (time traveling is nice too!), Nigeria, Botswana, Australia, New York City, Paris, I could go on and on. I recommend the book Purple Hibiscus. A great read and I learned so much about Nigeria, a place I knew little about before.

  2. Pingback: The Far Pavilions | Stories and Scribblings

Leave a Reply

