An Educated Guess

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Kirk: Mr. Spock, have you accounted for the variable mass of whales and water in your time re-entry program?

Spock: Mr. Scott cannot give me exact figures, Admiral, so… I will make a guess.

Kirk: A guess? You, Spock? That’s extraordinary.

Spock: [to Dr. McCoy] I don’t think he understands.

McCoy: No, Spock. He means that he feels safer about your guesses than most other people’s facts.

Education is important.  But I think that, just maybe, we have begun to mis-define what education means.  In the USA currently, there is a lot of emphasis on ‘common core’ education, which is designed to create a standardized educational experience for all students, in every school, in every state.  However, plain ‘common sense’ will tell you that students and their abilities are NOT standardized, hence one system of learning will most likely not work for all.

I studied Elementary Education while in college.  We were taught ways that would teach students to LEARN.  Yes, we need to know facts (sometimes), we need to know answers (sometimes) but above anything else, we need to know how to THINK, to LEARN, to FIND out.  These skills are the ones that, hopefully, bring us to what we truly need, wisdom.

Who has put wisdom in the inner parts or given understanding to the mind? (Job 38:36)

We seek knowledge, but do we seek to become wise?  And what is wisdom anyway?  It is Spock using the learning, facts, education, past experience, and everything he knows to ‘guess’ at a possible outcome.  It is knowing, as in this tweet that the more we know, the more we realize that we don’t know everything.  It is knowing who to go to for answers, advice, a kick in the pants when needed.

The Bible has much to say about wisdom:

The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom; all those who practice it have a good understanding. His praise endures forever! (Psalm 111:10)

Get wisdom; get insight; do not forget, and do not turn away from the words of my mouth. (Proverbs 4:5)

The beginning of wisdom is this: Get wisdom, and whatever you get, get insight. (Proverbs 4:7)

(There are many more – I encourage anyone who is interested to search “wisdom” at Bible Gateway.)

But the reality is, we are human, imperfect, and quick to follow our own paths.  We confuse learning, education, with wisdom.  We think, ‘I know that already, why should I ask someone else? Especially God?  Why would He give me anything, including wisdom?’  Dear reader, because He says he will!  You don’t believe me?  How about this:

If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask God, who gives generously to all without reproach, and it will be given him. (James 1:5)

Generously.  To all.  Without reproach.  Do you hear?  This is for you, for me, for all.  What are you seeking answers for, wisdom about today?  Finances?  Job?  Family?  Or maybe you’re asking, ‘What’s in this for me?  Why am I even here, what am I supposed to do?’  Why not simply ask.  He promises He will answer you.  His phone number, in case you lost it is JER 31:3!

Call to me and I will answer you, and tell you great and hidden things that you have not known

Call today.  The Operator is standing by!

#writing101

10 thoughts on “An Educated Guess

  1. I like it a lot. You have associated education with what wisdom really is.

    Einstein once said “Education is what remains with us even when all that we learnt in schools is forgotten!”

    How true!

    Love and light ❤

    Anand 🙂

  2. This is brilliant
    I think a big problem is how our education has been marketised. If you don’t go to uni or don’t learn something in a class it is not considered ‘real knowledge’ or ‘formal teaching’. Well what about the life skills my family and community taught me? What about the history and culture they taught me?
    And what with us paying for university as well – it’s become like a product. It’s horrible 😦

Leave a Reply

