I write because..

Good morning, dear readers!

I am embarking on another learning adventure this month.  I have enrolled in not 1, but 2, online courses:  Writing 101 and Blogging 201!  So I beg your indulgence as you (hopefully) see a greater than usual number of articles published on my blog.  I would also ask for your help, dear reader, by sending me your feedback, comments, etc., through the ‘Comments’ section of each post.  I thank you in advance for your help in trying to improve my writing, and in making this blog someplace you like to and want to visit!

Image by Cheri Lucas Rowland

Image by Cheri Lucas Rowland

The first day of Writing 101 asked us to finish the sentence “I write because…”  Like anyone involved in any activity, there are always more reasons for doing it than you can think of, so the ideas that follow are a couple of the reasons that came to mind in my case.  So tell me, do you write (or paint, or compose songs)?  Why?  I’d be interested in finding out what drives your urge to create something.  Let me know in the comments section below!

I write because I often find it easier to express my thoughts coherently when I write them down. The process of writing slows down my mind, forces me to think about what I am saying, and judge if it is something that should be said or not. Writing is a great way to prevent ‘foot-in-mouth’ disease!  The Bible says “…the tongue is a fire, a world of unrighteousness.” (James 3:6) And again, ” but no human being can tame the tongue. It is a restless evil, full of deadly poison.” (James 3:8.)  Boy, can I relate to that.  By taking time to organize my thoughts, it helps me curb my tendency to snap out an inappropriate comment.

Writing is also an outlet – I don’t necessarily have to mail the letter I write, or publish that post, but the act of writing it down allows ne the opportunity to examine thoughts and emotions, to process them and assess their truth, their validity. Dr. Daniel Amen has said that our thoughts can lie to us, and that we need to ask ourselves, ‘Is this thought true or not?”  Thoughts can tell me I am unloved, unlovable, worthless.  Lies all.  TRUTH tells me I am a King’s daughter, worth His very life. But unless I take the time to examine these stray thought lies and purge them, they can stick around the brain causing all kinds of trouble.

So, these are some of the reasons why I write.

6 thoughts on “I write because..

Leave a Reply

