Blogging 101

To think  that when I started blogging, it was just a way to keep in touch with 2 friends who changed from The Book of Faces (as they say in Crossford VIllage, NJ Renaissance Faire style)  over to blogging.  Never thought I would take the Blogging 101 challenge, but here I am.  (“”This is another fine mess you’ve gotten me into, Stanley!” Or rather JoAnne and Rebekah!) So, why am I here?  The first question they asked us to consider is why a public blog and not a private journal.  Tough question for me.  In various small groups and Bible studies in the last 2 years, we have been encouraged to journal.  I do – for 2 days, a week, maybe 2.  Done. Had a diary as a kid – sketchy at best. Don’t do scrapbooking. either.  The only thing I’ve done consistently is take photos, and. since Steve and I married (wow, 12 years ago next month) is save a memento or two from each trip we’ve taken and paste them into a large artist’s sketch book. I guess that I blog because I like to write, but I don’t always have something to say that’s worth writing about.  Sometimes it’s a stray verse that catches my brain, or a new project I’m knitting.  Maybe it’s something I see or hear.  So blogging allows me to write about something when that happens, rather than trying to force the writing into an expected mold or format.  So I guess that’s why I blog instead of journal.  (Also, I type WAAAAAY better than I write! My friends and family can attest to that!)

What topics do I think I’ll write about?  Well some I named above – those stray ideas that pop up.  But I will still continue to blog about my knitting, my art (if I ever start painting again!), family history research, and of course food and cooking!  I’ll write about things I like and people I love.

And I would love to connect with anyone interested in these things – I love checking into the variety of people who decide that my blog is interesting, or worth following, and to follow them in return.  I like the tips provided in the past that led me to sources which unexpectedly held some key pieces of my family history here in New Jersey.  See my post “Lost & Found.”

So, that’s who I am, and why I’m here.  For now!  See you all out there in Blog 101 land

5 thoughts on “Blogging 101

  1. Thanks for visiting my site! I love to knit too. It has become one of my best ways to get through depressions. I compile a playlist of my favorite Christian music, and then let my thoughts go in and out as I knit. I make shawls, but I call them “Praise Shawls” instead of the usual “prayer shawl.” When I give the gift, I generally will also give a CD of the music I listened to while I crafted the shawl.

    Keep on blogging!

Leave a Reply

