Moving June

Oh, my goodness! I just realized how long it has been since I have written anything!  My apologies to anyone who may have been looking for something new to read.  I actually should thank the author of “A Map of California” blog for the wake-up call.  I was just reading one of his posts about Passover, and decided to look at my blog, and saw that the last thing I wrote was on Christmas Day!  Yikes! (By the way, thanks so much for the blogs about Passover, Uncle Guacamole!  While I was the token Gentile at the JCC while in college, and been to a Saturday synagogue service or two, and once got roped into attending a Yom Kippur service, your blogs bring tradition to life in a fascinating and personal way.)

So anyway, here it is – spring has sprung in the northeast (Finally!) It hasn’t snowed for 4 weeks or so (although the temperatures cannot decide if they should be in the 30’s, 50’s or 70’s!) and, today, God’s creation is bright and smiling under sunshine and fluffy clouds.

So why away so long?  Well, life gets interesting, and God most certainly has a sense of humor.  He has been working on my ability to trust Him since last summer, when my husband’s company announced that they would be offering early retirement packages, beginning in the fall of 2014 and throughout the next 2-year contract period.  Naturally, after 29 years of factory work, my hubby was gung-ho about taking one.  In fact, he wanted to take the first one offered in September of 2014.  He was excited, but did agree to wait until the next offer, which, according to the powers that be there, would be May or June, 2015.

I, on the other hand, was not excited.  Or gung-ho.  Or happy.  In fact, I kept raining on his parade.  A lot.  I couldn’t see past the financial aspects; I agonized about things I would have to pack even though we hadn’t even gotten to that point; I worried about a new church even though we hadn’t moved.  In short, I really gave my husband grief.  But more importantly, I was grieving God.

It took Him a couple of months (well, may more than a couple) to get me to even hear His voice.  But slowly, quietly, things would get through. God finally got me to hear Him, and He was saying, I’ve got this, Trust me, Aren’t I big enough to take care of you?  So, I finally am able to give it all over, and stop acting like a mad woman or running in circles.  So I’m good and mentally making lists and timelines to get things done by June.

Move forward to the first week of January, after everyone gets back from Christmas vacations, break, etc.  And his company sends out the word of the next dates for early retirement:  February 28 or March 31!  AND, anyone interested must submit paperwork by January 30!  Wow.  This is a whole lot sooner than June, the house repairs are not done, partly because of the lovely winter we had here in New Jersey, and here we go again.  But, this time, I am fully trusting. Most of the time.  There were moments…

Well, my hubby’s last day at the factory, after 30 years, was March 31st. We are doing well, we have been able to get out and do things on the days I am not working at the church office.  He has been able and willing to do some of the boring cleaning around the house, and has already begun attending the men’s Bible study at church on Tuesday mornings. We haven’t killed each other yet, and I know that God will be with us as we decide when and where we will settle.  For He promises “I will not leave you or forsake you,” and “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.”(Joshua 1: 5b;9)

So, whatever changes life throws your way, whatever detours you encounter, even if June becomes March, BE STRONG AND COURAGEOUS for He has promised!

Leave a Reply

