Books and Friendship

I love talking with friends about books.  Today, my author friend +Maxine Thomas (Once Upon a Fable) stopped by the church office while waiting to pick up her grandson from school.  Naturally, the talk turned to books.  The conversation started when I showed her a crocheted sleeve for my e-reader that I made from a book, and we went from there.

We agreed that while e-readers are great for travel, and for those books you may not necessarily want taking up space on your bookshelf, there is nothing like having a real book in your hands.  With a paper-and-ink book you can make notes, highlight it, mark it up, love it.  Can’t do that with a piece of machinery!

Of course, her grandson is appalled that Maxine writes in her books, so I imagine I’d get the same reaction from him if he ever say mine!   Writing in our favorite books becomes a way to identify with the characters or the message, to cross-reference facts, to make notes of what we have learned.

For me, this habit is especially evident in my Bibles. (I confess that I  have several different ones – study Bibles, key word Bibles, different translations.)  All of them are highlighted, underlined.  Margins are filled with notes from my studying or from a sermon.  Some places look like flow charts, with circles and arrows and symbols.  But why?

For me, it is a reminder.  When I see certain symbols or colors, I remember what that passage spoke to me about, how it related to my life.  Sometimes I find an encouragement, sometimes a warning.  But always I find a friend – in every place I have written, I find Jesus conversing with me.  It’s a precious thing.

And after all, isn’t that what it’s all about – our relationship to the best friend we can ever have, Jesus?

 

(Oh, and by the way, check out Maxine’s book Very Truly Yours !)

One thought on “Books and Friendship

  1. Pingback: Books and Friendship | Linda Art

Leave a Reply

