The technology of the Waffle

WorldsFairGlobe_091

This article was in the January 5, 2014, issue of Parade magazine.  It brought make so many memories!  Fun times, childhood days, family and friends!  My dad was a long time member of the Lion’s Club International, and the Milltown club ran a couple of bus trips to the 1964 World’s Fair, up to Flushing Meadows.  I remember seeing all the things in this article, but certain things stand out in my memory.

First and foremost has to be the Walt Disney exhibit, It’s A Small World.”  So much so that when I first went to Disney World in Florida and saw the ‘same’ ride, I felt there was something missing.  There was – turns out the original pavilion is in Anaheim, California, at Disneyland!  Got to see that, too!

Then, there was the Exxon(?) pavilion, with the dinosaurs that towered over you.  And the Carousel of Progress (also now at Walt Disney World.)  So much Disney – no wonder these things stuck in a 7-year olds mind all these years!

But, the one favorite thing i remember, that wasn’t mentioned here (guess it doesn’t really count as technology!) is — ta-da! — Belgian waffles!  Who ever heard of 2 waffles an inch thick, with -wait for it- ICE CREAM in between them?  We certainly never did.  And I’m guessing that our parents were wishing half way through the trip that we never had!  “MOM, Mom, Mom! Can we have another one?  PLEASE?”  I don’t remember how often we were successful in dragging mom and dad back for more, but I do remember having more than one. (Of course, so did mom and dad, truth be told!) And naturally, the second trip we took to the Fair, that was the first thing we wanted to do!

I have to confess, even to this day, a good, crisp, hot, Belgian waffle with ice cream is one of my favorite treats.  I don’t get them often, as it’s hard to find one worth the eating of it, but when I do, it’s got my name all over it!

6 Technologies That Debuted at the 1964 New York World’s Fair.

Leave a Reply

