The Joy of Cooking — leftovers?

This week features that ugly word (to some):  leftovers.  Personally, having grown up with older parents who were adults during the Great Depression, I learned to love leftovers.  So, I make more than enough for a meal, and freeze the rest!  A dear friend of mine says, that’s not leftovers – that’s PLANNED OVERS!  I like that.

So, I made a very small ham 2 weeks ago and we had a dinner that night, and another last week.  But that still left me with 2 slices of ham!  So I pulled them out of the freezer today, and incorporated them into one of my favorite ‘everything but the kitchen sink’ recipes.  If you check out my Recipes I Like to Make Page, and check out the recipe at the top, Phyllis’ Tomato Zucchini Pie, you’ll find the base recipe.  I used the baking mix crust, but made the filling as follows:

I roasted 2 small turnips, peeled and diced, 5 or 6 baby bell peppers, seeded, and 8 or 9 baby carrots, cut into thirds.  (I tossed all these with a drizzle of olive oil and some oregano.)  I placed the carrots and turnips on a baking sheet, and the peppers on a smaller one so I could take them out first, at 450 degrees, until soft, and the peppers until nicely brown/black.

I toke the two slices of ham, diced them, placed them in the crust, added the roasted veggies, some chopped fresh rosemary, and about a cup and a half of shredded cheddar cheese.  Because these ingredients are rather dry, I beat an egg with about a tablespoonful of water and poured that over all.  Baked it at 375 until the crust was brown and the cheese melted.

Usually my husband doesn’t care for this type of dish, but because it tasted like a ham and cheese sandwich to him, he liked it!  Oh, and also try the “Better Than French Fries” recipe right below it – Steve said it was way better than baked potatoes AND french fries!  (Thanks, Sean!)

Leave a Reply

