I beg to differ

It has been said that there are no dumb questions, only dumb answers.  I beg to differ.  Travel agents, in particular, get dumb questions all the time.  It must be an unwritten job requirement.  As a former travel consultant for business travelers, I have had some classics, including the lady afraid to fly who wanted to take a train to Paris.  From New York.  Through the channel tunnel!  One of the dumbest is “What time is the five o’clock flight?” (Seriously.  I think almost every travel agent has been asked that at some point.)

But I think the one that takes the cake and left me speechless, not once but twice in my 20+ years in the industry, was “Where am I?”  I truly had two different businessmen call me up and ask me that.  One had a secretary who ordered him a ticket to their firm’s plant in Fayetteville- she booked him to North Carolina, as that is where he usually went.  HE, on the other hand, meant Arkansas, where they also had a plant.  Mind you, he boarded the plane in Newark, changed planes in Charlotte, NC, and didn’t question anything until, as he said on the phone, “This doesn’t look like Arkansas!”  Guess who didn’t read the ticket, or listen to the flight announcement of the destination!

The second time I got asked “Where am I?” was even better.  This client was on a typical 6-8 city, 5 week tour of various businesses in Europe, and was supposed to be (according to his itinerary) in Madrid, Spain.  He calls me back in New Jersey, and asks “Where am I?” All I could think to tell him was to look out the window?  Oh, well.

So, what’s the dumbest question you have been asked?  Would love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

