Epic Sagas

Those of you who know me, know that I love to read.  My favorite author is Jane Austen, and my favorite book is Pride and Prejudice.  But my reading tastes and lists are quite eclectic:  Janet Chapman, Debbie Macomber, Stephen Jay Gould, Georgette Heyer, Betty Neels; novels by various authors from the original Star Trek series; Piers Anthony’s Xanth novels; the list goes on and on.

Well, recently I was browsing through my Kobo e-reader and checking into the titles that came pre-installed, and found the Old English epic saga, Beowulf.  So I started to read it.  It boggles my mind that, although it is probably the oldest written story in the English language, not one of my English teachers in the past ever covered it.  As I’m reading it, I can’t imagine why – it’s the precursor to all our modern adventure stories, swashbuckling tales, and fantasy genres!  So far, it’s pretty amazing.  (I confess, however, I have not been reading the translator’s notes.  After all, I’m not in English class anymore!)

I recommend it to anyone wanting to read a good story – it’s worth the effort.

Leave a Reply

